Libraries Committee

Description & Purpose

This committee works with KU libraries to develop long-range planning for and monitor the allocation of library resources, to promote communication with the library by students, faculty, and staff, to expand access to materials.


The University Committee on Libraries shall be composed of thirteen faculty members serving staggered three-year terms, including one representative each from the schools of Architecture and Urban Design, Business, Education, Engineering, Journalism and Mass Communications, Music, Pharmacy, and Social Welfare, and five representatives from the College (representing Natural and Mathematical Sciences, Social and Behavioral Sciences, and Humanities, School of the Arts, and International and Interdisciplinary Studies). In addition, there shall be four student members serving one-year terms and two staff members appointed by their respective governance bodies and serving staggered three-year terms. At least one student member shall be a graduate student.These appointments are endorsed by the Provost via a letter of service to the appointee and the appointee's supervisor. The Committee shall also include the following non-voting, ex officio members: The Dean of the Libraries, the Law Librarian, and one each from the following library staff types, elected by their respective library governance body: university support staff, unclassified professional staff, and faculty. Either a faculty member or staff member may be appointed as chair.


For further information or to schedule a meeting with SenEx to discuss the committee's charges or work, please contact the University Senate President.
University Senate President