Libraries FY2018

Committee Details:

Committee: Libraries Committee
Committee Category: Standing Committees of the University Senate
Fiscal Year: 2018

Committee Description

Libraries: This committee works with KU libraries to develop long-range planning for and monitor the allocation of library resources, to promote communication with the library by students, faculty, and staff, to expand access to materials.

The University Committee on Libraries shall be composed of thirteen faculty members serving staggered three-year terms, including one representative each from the schools of Architecture and Urban Design, Business, Education, Engineering, Journalism and Mass Communications, Music, Pharmacy, and Social Welfare, and five representatives from the College (representing Natural and Mathematical Sciences, Social and Behavioral Sciences, and Humanities, School of the Arts, and International Studies). In addition, there shall be four student members serving one-year terms and two staff members appointed by the Provost and serving staggered three-year terms. At least one student member shall be a graduate student. The Committee shall also include the following non-voting, ex officio members: The Dean of the Libraries, the Law Librarian, and one each from the following library staff types, elected by their respective library governance body: university support staff, unclassified professional staff, and faculty.


Chair: Michael Shaw, Classics, College, Humanities (2018)
Faculty: Marie-Alice L’Heureux, Architecture (2020)
Faculty: Tailan Chi, Business (2020)
Faculty: Robert Harrington, Education (2018)
​Faculty: Russell Ostermann, Chemical & Petroleum Engr, (2019)
​Faculty: Tien-Tsung Lee, Journalism (2018)
Faculty: Ketty Wong-Cruz, Music (2020)
​Faculty: Jennifer Dill, Pharmacy (2019)
​Faculty: Becci Akin, Social Welfare (2019) 
​Faculty: Lisa Timmons, Molecular Biosciences College, Natural Sciences & Mathematics(2019)
​Faculty: Sandra Olsen, Museum Studies College, International Affairs (2018)
​Faculty: Catherine Preston, Film & Media Studies    College, School of the Arts (2018)
Faculty: Emily Rauscher, Sociology, College, Social and Behavioral Sciences (2020)
Staff: Jonathan Perkins, Ermal Garinger, Academic Resource Center (2020)
​Staff: Karl Janssen, University Press (2019)
​Student & Vice Chair: Grace Heitmann,
​Student: Emma Piazza,
​Student: Nellie Kassebaum,
​Student, Graduate: Brittany Oleniacz,

Ex-Officio-Non Voting Members:
​Kevin L. Smith, Dean of Libraries
​Pam Crawford, Law Librarian, Law Library
​Mary Ann Baker, Univ. Support Staff library staff
​Jocelyn Wehr, Unclassified Library Staff
​Karna Younger, Library Faculty


Approved by SenEx:  June 1, 2017
​Approved by University Senate:  September 7, 2017

  • For further information or to schedule a meeting with SenEx to discuss charges or the committee’s work, contact SenEx Chair Suzanne Shontz     
  • Minutes of each meeting should be e-mailed to the Governance Office ( as they are approved.  The minutes will be posted to the Governance web site
  • If the committee is recommending a change to university policy or rules, SenEx must officially receive that recommendation by March 13, 2018 in order to meet timeline requirements for full review by Governance.
  • Please send a report of the committee’s actions on each of the charges, as well as any recommendations the committee wishes to make concerning charges or membership for the following academic year, to University Governance, at, and submit the final report by April 13, 2018.

Standing Charges:

  1. Monitor and support the Libraries’ long-range planning and allocation of resources—staff, physical space, equipment, collections, digitally-based information, etc.—in light of the needs of different academic disciplines and the budget situation. Assist in communicating about planning resource allocations to support teaching (including both undergraduate and graduate) and research. Report issues and recommendations for action to SenEx. (ongoing)
  2. Assess and assist with the effectiveness of communication between the Libraries and students, faculty, and staff, about topics including but not limited to library-based instruction in classes and academic programs in support of university-wide learner outcomes. Report issues and recommendations for action to SenEx. (ongoing)
  3. Obtain a report from the Open Access advisory board concerning activities, and long-range planning for Open Access at KU.
  4. FY2020 Committee.  According to the Open Access Policy for University of Kansas Scholars, that policy should be reviewed every three years.  The policy was last revised and updated in FY2017. ​In addition to a general report on the level of acceptance of this policy and issues encountered in getting it established, the review should address the following:
    1. How well it has been accepted by publishers, which publishers do not support the policy, and whether this has contributed to researchers being unable to put  their work in the repository;
    2. The percentage of the faculty who are participating;
    3. Whether there are particular disciplines or research areas that are “underrepresented” in the repository.

Specific Charges:


Meeting Minutes

October 12, 2017 Approved Minutes (PDF)

Final Reports and Outcomes

FY2018 Final Report (PDF)

Libraries FY2018