Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate acts on behalf of the Faculty, and reports at each meeting of the University Senate. The Faculty Senate recommends rules, regulations, and policies on behalf of the University’s faculty for the Faculty Senate Rules and Regulations and provides input for various other university policies. The Faculty Senate consists of 39 faculty members who serve simultaneous terms on the University Senate. Members serve staggered three-year terms, with one third of the members elected each spring by the faculty at large through a mail ballot. All of the professional schools, the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, and the libraries are represented on the Faculty Senate. The Faculty Senate usually meets once each month during the fall semester, and twice a month during the spring semester.

Faculty Senate President

The president of the Faculty Senate also serves as chair of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FacEx), and presides over the meetings of both entities.
The Faculty Senate President is a member of the Council of Faculty Senate Presidents (COFSP), composed of representatives of university governance at the other five Regents institutions, the KU Medical Center, and Washburn University. COFSP meets monthly in conjunction with the Board of Regents meeting.