• Home
  • University/Faculty Senate
  • University Senate 2020

University Senate

University Senate

The University Senate consists of thirteen student members elected from the Student Senate, twelve staff members elected from the Staff Senate, and thirty‑nine Faculty members elected to the Faculty Senate. The Chancellor and the Provost are ex-officio, non-voting members.  The presidents of the Student, Faculty, and Staff Senates are also ex-officio, non-voting members of the University Senate if they are not among the elected members of the University Senate.  The University Senate shall recommend rules, regulations, and policies on behalf of the University’s faculty, staff and students. The University Senate generally meets once a month during the fall semester, and twice a month during the spring semester.

  • University Senate President and Chair of SenEx, Ex-Officio on SenEx/FacEx 2020, University/Faculty Senate - Term Ends 2020, Clinical Professor, Director, Criminal Prosecution Field Placement Program


  • Faculty Senate President and Chair of FacEx, Ex-officio on SenEx/FacEx 2020, University/Faculty Senate Term Ends 2020, Department of African and African-American Studies, Professor, Director of the Langston Hughes Center



Staff Senate Staff


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today
Governance Meetings