Faculty Senate 2018

The Faculty Senate acts on behalf of the faculty. The Faculty Senate recommends rules, regulations, and policies on behalf of the University’s faculty for the Faculty Senate Rules and Regulations and provides input for various other university policies. The Faculty Senate consists of 39 faculty members who serve simultaneous terms on the University Senate. Members serve staggered three-year terms, with one third of the members elected each spring by the faculty at large through elections. All of the professional schools, the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, and the libraries are represented on the Faculty Senate. Members’ terms begin the day after Commencement of the election year and continue until Commencement the following year.​



Faculty Senate President, Amalia Monroe-Gulick

Suzanne Shontz
  • University/Faculty Senate - Term Ends 2019
  • Associate Professor
  • Co-Director, Biomechanics & Neural Engineering Track
  • Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Suzanne Valdez
  • University Senate President and Chair of SenEx
  • Ex-Officio on SenEx/FacEx 2020
  • University/Faculty Senate - Term Ends 2020
  • Clinical Professor
  • Director, Criminal Prosecution Field Placement Program
  • Law