Faculty Compensation FY2021

Committee Details:

Committee: Faculty Compensation
Committee Category: Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate
Fiscal Year: FY2021
Fiscal Year: 2021


  • Chair: Cambrey Nguyen, Pharmacy (2021)
  • Hossein Saiedian, Engineering (2022)
  • Josh Arpin, Business (2022)
  • David Weis, Chemistry (2021)
  • Carolyn Watson, Music (2023)
  • Ex-officio member: Chris Brown, Vice Provost, Faculty Development


Standing Charges

  1. Collect information on levels and distribution of faculty salaries. Report and make policy recommendations to FacEx and the Faculty Senate, including a 1-page executive summary of the Final Report.

Specific Charges

  1. Evaluate how the pandemic and budget concerns have affected and will continue to affect faculty compensation on campus, make recommendations to mitigate such impacts.
  2. In addition to the current regression model, an analysis of the distribution increases in compensation within a given rank using years in that rank as an explanatory variable. The current model uses rank and years of service as explanatory variables but does not explicitly model years in rank as an explanatory variable.
  3. Examining the range of current salaries as a percentage of each person’s initial salary in their current rank could be a worthwhile method of detecting disparities in the distribution of raises.
  4. The AIR reports in future years should strive to separate the effects that are the result of long-standing trends from those that are the results of recent budget cuts and the policy of incentives for early retirement.

Final Reports and Outcomes

Faculty Compensation Final Report FY2021 (pdf)

Faculty Compensation FY2021