Academic Computing and Electronic Communications FY2015

Committee Details:

Committee: Academic Computing and Electronic Communications
Committee Category: Standing Committees of the University Senate
Fiscal Year: FY2015
Fiscal Year: 2015


  • Chair: Perry Alexander, EECS (2015)
  • Faculty Senate Rep: David Fowle, Geology, (2015)
  • Allison Reeve, Wheat Law Library, (2015)
  • Eric Deeds, Bioinformatics (2016)
  • Charlotte Tritch, Business (2017) 
  • Zach George, Student, Vice Chair
  • Michael Walker, Graduate
  • Paul Espinosa, IT, Unclassified Staff (2015)
  • Jennifer Talbott, Spencer Museum of Art, Unclassified Staff (2017)
  • Brad McClung, IT, University Support Staff (2017)
  • Ex-officio: Easan Selvan, IT Services
  • Ex-officio: Jeff Chasen, Director of Institutional Compliance


Standing Charges

  1. Monitor current and proposed policy concerning security of information, intellectual property rights and responsibilities, and other matters relating to information technology. Identify issues for which policy should be developed or revised. Report issues and any recommendations for action to SenEx. (ongoing)

Specific Charges

  1. Working together with RGS, create a recommendation on how Information Technology could better accommodate research.   The following should be among the issues addressed:
    1. Support
    2. Archival file storage
    3. Grant accommodation and development
  2. Monitor the continued progress in installation of the ubiquitous wireless initiative.
  3. Continue monitoring the progress of the “one campus” initiatives for IT such as “One Network” and “Single Identity.”
  4. Consider how to address the issue of members of the KU community using alternative tools (e.g., Dropbox) to those provided by KU (e.g., HawkDrive).

Final Reports and Outcomes

ACEC Final Report FY2015 (pdf)

Academic Computing and Electronic Communications FY2015