Calendar Committee FY2021


Calendar Committee FY2021


Committee:

Calendar Committee

Category:

Standing Committees of the University Senate

Description:

Calendar: This committee is responsible for developing the university’s 5-year calendar, informing the university community about and monitoring compliance with rules concerning the scheduling of examinations and other matters, and considering or developing proposals concerning changes to the calendar.

Membership: The Calendar Committee shall be composed of ten voting members: the University Registrar (or designee), four faculty members serving staggered three-year terms, two staff members serving staggered three-year terms, and three student members serving one-year terms. The Registrar at KUMC and the Director of International Student Services shall serve as ex-officio, nonvoting members.

Members:

Chair: Laurie Ramirez, Social Welfare, (2021) lramirez@ku.edu
Faculty: Julia Broxholm, Music (2021) jbroxhol@ku.edu
Faculty:Nyla Branscombe, Psychology (2022) nyla@ku.edu
Faculty: Miloche Kottman, Libraries (2023) mkottman@ku.edu
Staff: Wendy Bridges, Office Event Mgmt. & Protocol (2021) wbridges@ku.edu
Staff: Nancy Stoms, Admissions (2023) nstoms@ku.edu
Registrars Office: Tiffany Robinson, tiffany.robinson@ku.edu
Student: Adrian Romero, Adrian-romero65@ku.edu
Student: Grant Daily, sbvp@ku.edu
Student: Addison Henson, addisonhenson@ku.edu

Ex-officio (non voting):
Registrar KUMC:
Ali Soltanshahi, alito@ku.edu, Director International Support Services

Charges:

Approved by SenEx: May 29, 2020
Approved by University Senate: September 10, 2020

FY2021 Standing charges:

  1. Monitor compliance with University Senate Rules and Regulations 1.3.2 concerning final examinations, including: (a) ensuring that adequate arrangements are made each semester to inform students and faculty through the Schedule of Classes about the regulations governing final examinations, and the appropriate procedures to be followed if questions arise about the application of the regulations; (b) informing the teaching faculty and GTAs, via an e-mail fromthe chair, one week before the beginning of each semester (in August andJanuary) of these regulations and their rationale; and (c) considering requests for exceptions, as provided in the regulations. Report actions taken on these matters to SenEx. (ongoing)
     
  2. Monitor compliance with University Senate Rules and Regulations 1.4.2 concerning the scheduling of examinations outside of regular class hours. Following the committee’s established procedures, approve or disapprove applications for tests other than final examinations to be held at times other than regular class hours. Report actions taken on these matters to SenEx.
     
  3. FY2021 Committee: Update the five-year calendar.  Report to SenEx by November 20, 2020.  (When approved by University Senate, Governance will forward to Haskell Registrar)

FY2021 Specific charges:

  1. Review and monitor possible calendar changes due to COVID19.  Suggest changes for future emergencies.