Academic Computing and Electronic Communications FY2019

Academic Computing and Electronic Communications FY2019


Academic Computing and Electronic Communications


Standing Committees of the University Senate


Academic Computing and Electronic Communications (ACEC): This committee works with administrative personnel and other governance bodies to support and improve the academic computing and telecommunications environment at KU and to develop policy concerning information security, intellectual property rights, and other matters relating to information technology.

Membership: The Committee on Academic Computing and Electronic Communication shall be composed of nine voting members: five faculty members, one of whom shall be from the Libraries, serving staggered three‑year terms, two staff members serving staggered three-year terms; and two students, one undergraduate and one graduate student each serving a one‑year term, appointed by the student body president. The Deputy CIO for Technology or designee and the Associate Vice Provost for Integrity and Compliance or designee shall serve as ex officio, nonvoting members. The members of the committee should be selected so that they will be broadly representative of the University faculty and students by user groups and disciplines. [updated 8/2018 with revised membership numbers passed by University Senate in May 2018]]


Chair: Larry Hoyle, IPSR, (2019)
Faculty (Libraries): Angela Rathmel, Libraries (2021)
Faculty:, Mathew Jacobson, Film and Media  (2021)
Faculty: Siyuan Han, Physics & Astronomy (2019)
Faculty: Suman Mallik, Business (2019)
Staff: Boryana Koseva, K-INBRE, (2020)
Staff: Kumuditha Ratnayake, Chemistry, (2020)
Voting, Student: Samson Schaefer,
Voting, Graduate Student, Eliza Kassebaum,

Eric Freeze, IT Services
David Day, IT (Visitor)
Jeff Chasen, Associate Vice Provost, Compliance


Approved by SenEx: May 21, 2018
Approved by University Senate: September 6, 2018

For further information or to schedule a meeting with SenEx to discuss charges or the committee’s work, contact SenEx Chair Ruben Flores. 

  • Minutes of each meeting should be e-mailed to the Governance Office ( as they are approved.  The minutes will be posted to the Governance web site.
  • If the committee is recommending a change to university policy or rules, SenEx must officially receive that recommendation by March 26, 2019 in order to meet timeline requirements for full review by Governance.
  • Please send a report of the committee’s actions on each of the charges, as well as any recommendations the committee wishes to make concerning charges or membership for the following academic year, to University Governance, at, and submit the final report by April 15, 2019.

FY2019 Standing charges:

  1. Monitor current and proposed policy concerning security of information, intellectual property rights and responsibilities, and other matters relating to information technology. Identify issues for which policy should be developed or revised. Report issues and any recommendations for action to SenEx. (ongoing)

FY2019 Specific charges:

  1. Continue to review Blackboard from the perspective of functionality and cost, including cloud hosting mode and the mobile version of Blackboard.
  2. Follow-up and review any new IT policies received by SenEx, proposed by IT.
  3. Continue to monitor IT efforts to determine varying needs of multiple user communities on campus, and recommend possible improvements.  Evaluate the effect of process changes to Faculty, Staff and Students shared mailboxes. 
  4. Investigate best practices in training and providing the proper tools across campus to increase use of software.
  5. Meet with the IT Security Officer to establish protocols to ensure maintenance of individual privacy in technology implementation
  6. Follow up on town-halls focused on IT policies and issues