Academic Computing and Electronic Communications FY2020

Academic Computing and Electronic Communications FY2020


Academic Computing and Electronic Communications


Standing Committees of the University Senate


Academic Computing and Electronic Communications (ACEC): This committee works with administrative personnel and other governance bodies to support and improve the academic computing and electronic communications environment at KU and to develop policy concerning information security, intellectual property rights, and other matters relating to information technology.

The Committee on Academic Computing and Electronic Communication shall be composed of nine voting members: five faculty members, one of whom shall be from the Libraries, serving staggered three‑year terms, two staff members serving staggered three-year terms; and two students, one undergraduate and one graduate student each serving a one‑year term, appointed by the student body president. The Deputy CIO for Technology or designee and the Associate Vice Provost for Integrity and Compliance or designee shall serve as ex officio, nonvoting members. The members of the committee should be selected so that they will be broadly representative of the University faculty and students by user groups and disciplines. [updated 8/2018 with revised membership numbers passed by University Senate in May 2018]


Chair: Larry Hoyle, IPSR, (2020)
Faculty (Libraries): Angela Rathmel, Libraries (2021)
Faculty: Mathew Jacobson, Film and Media (2021)
Faculty: Hong Vu, Journalism (2022)
Faculty: Phillip Wedge, English (2022)
Staff: Boryana Koseva, K-INBRE, (2020)
Staff: Kumuditha Ratnayake, Chemistry, (2020)
Voting, Student: William Wilk
Voting, Graduate Student: Elliot Brewer

Mary Walsh, IT Services
David Day, IT (Visitor)
Jeff Chasen, Associate Vice Provost, Compliance


Approved by SenEx: May 28, 2019
Approved by University Senate: September 12, 2019

For further information or to schedule a meeting with SenEx to discuss charges or the committee’s work, contact SenEx Chair Suzanne Valdez. 

  • Minutes of each meeting should be e-mailed to the Governance Office ( as they are approved.  The minutes will be posted to the Governance web site.
  • If the committee is recommending a change to university policy or rules, SenEx must officially receive that recommendation by March 24, 2020 in order to meet timeline requirements for full review by Governance.
  • Please send a report of the committee’s actions on each of the charges, as well as any recommendations the committee wishes to make concerning charges or membership for the following academic year, to University Governance, at, and submit the final report by April 17, 2020.


Standing charges:

  1. Monitor current and proposed policy concerning security of information, intellectual property rights and responsibilities, and other matters relating to information technology. Identify issues for which policy should be developed or revised. Report issues and any recommendations for action to SenEx. (ongoing)

Specific charges:

  1. Monitor the implementation of multifactor authentication (MFA) for single sign-on. Determine if there are faculty, staff or students for whom the requirement caused a significant burden. Ensure that faculty, staff, and students who want a token are receiving them at no cost. With the implementation of MFA, are other changes to password policy desirable, e.g. a longer retention period?
  2. Review the effectiveness of the “safelinks” substitution of links in in Exchange emails. Is there a way to allow users to easily view the original URL?
  3. Follow up with CIO on the status of an IT Town Hall.

Final Report:

Final Report (PDF)