Academic Computing and Electronic Communications FY2016

Academic Computing and Electronic Communications FY2016


Academic Computing and Electronic Communications


Standing Committees of the University Senate


Academic Computing and Electronic Communications (ACEC): This committee works with administrative personnel and other governance bodies to support and improve the academic computing and telecommunications environment at KU and to develop policy concerning information security, intellectual property rights, and other matters relating to information technology.

The Committee on Academic Computing and Electronic Communication shall be composed of four faculty members, one of whom shall be from the Libraries, serving staggered three‑year terms, one faculty member of the Faculty Senate appointed for a one-year term, three representatives from the staff serving staggered three-year terms, two students, an undergraduate and a graduate serving one‑year terms, appointed by the student body president. The Director of Information Technology or designee and the KU Privacy Officer shall serve as ex officio, nonvoting members. The members of the committee should be selected so that they will be broadly representative of the University faculty and students by user groups and disciplines.


Chair: Perry Alexander, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Faculty Senate Rep: Megan Patterson, Education, (2016)
Faculty: David Guth, Journalism, (2018)
Faculty: Hongguo Xu, Mathematics (2018)
Faculty: Sarah Goodwin Thiel, Libraries, (2018)
Faculty: Eric Deeds, Bioinformatics (2016)
Staff: Christopher Young, Facilities Services, (2018)
Staff: Jennifer Talbott, Spencer Museum of Art (2017)
Staff: Brad McClung, IT, (2017)
Student & Vice Chair: Baxter Vaz,
Graduate Student: Brent Lee,
Ex-officio: Easan Selvan, IT Services
Ex-officio: Jeff Chasen, Director of Institutional Compliance       


Approved by SenEx: May 27, 2015
Approved by University Senate: September 10, 2015

  • For further information or to schedule a meeting with SenEx to discuss charges or the committee’s work, contact SenEx Chair Michael Williams
  • Minutes of each meeting should be e-mailed to the Governance Office ( as they are approved.  The minutes will be posted to the Governance web site.
  • If the committee is recommending a change to university policy or rules, SenEx must officially receive that recommendation by March 29, 2016 in order to meet timeline requirements for full review by Governance.
  • Please send a report of the committee’s actions on each of the charges, as well as any recommendations the committee wishes to make concerning charges or membership for the following academic year, to University Governance, at, and submit the final report by April 15, 2016.

Standing charges:

  1. Monitor current and proposed policy concerning security of information, intellectual property rights and responsibilities, and other matters relating to information technology. Identify issues for which policy should be developed or revised. Report issues and any recommendations for action to SenEx. (ongoing)

Specific charges:

  1. Working together with RGS, create a recommendation on how Information Technology could better accommodate research.   The following should be among the issues addressed:
    1. Support
    2. Archival file storage
    3. Grant accommodation and development
  2. Monitor the continued progress in installation of the ubiquitous wireless initiative.
  3. Continue monitoring the progress of the “one campus” initiatives for IT such as “One Network” and “Single Identity.”
  4. Consider how to address the issue of members of the KU community using alternative tools (e.g., Dropbox) to those provided by KU (e.g., HawkDrive).
  5. Monitor the development of the Technology Governance System to ensure that it includes equal and proper representation of staff, faculty, and students.
  6. Develop a line of communication between ACEC and IT for inclusion in the Technology Governance System.