• Home
  • University/Faculty Senate
  • University Senate 2018

University Senate 2018

University Senate

The University Senate consists of thirteen student members elected from the Student Senate, six members of the university support staff elected from the University Support Staff Senate, six members of the Unclassified Senate Staff elected from the Unclassified Senate, and thirty‑nine Faculty members elected to the Faculty Senate. The Chancellor and the Provost are ex-officio, non-voting members.  The presidents of the Student, Faculty, Unclassified Senate, and University Support Staff Senate are also ex-officio, non-voting members of the University Senate if they are not among the elected members of the University Senate.  The University Senate shall recommend rules, regulations, and policies on behalf of the University’s faculty, staff and students. The University Senate generally meets once a month during the fall semester, and twice a month during the spring semester.

FY2018 University Senate President,
​Suzanne Shontz


Staff Senate Staff


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today
Governance Meetings