Standards and Procedures on Promotion and Tenure (SPPT) Committee

Annual Report - AY 2023-24

Committee Members: Nisha Fernando (School of Architecture & Design; Chairperson), Teri Finneman (School of Journalism & Mass Communication), Uma Outka (School of Law), Ariel Linden (Department of Slavic, German & Eurasian Studies) and Brittany Melon(School of Pharmacy)

Ex-officio: Amy Mendenhall (Vice-Provost of Faculty Affairs) and Muhammad (Child Language, CLAS & Faculty Senate Representative)

- The committee received a revised charge from Fac Ex in December 2023.
- Nisha Fernando continued from Co-chair position to Chair position and Uma Outka continued to be a member. Three new committee members were added (Terri Finneman, Airel Linden and Brittany Melton). Amy Mendenhall and Muhammad Raza are new Ex-officio members.
- The committee met two times in the Spring semester.
- The committee completed reviews from the following units and communicated the results to the respective units including the unit administrators:
 - Museum Studies brand new P&T criteria to include tenure-track related policies; initial review sent with some recommendations, based on which the unit made revisions which were also subsequently reviewed and then approved.
 - Women, Gender Studies and Sexuality revised language in the P&T criteria were approved.
 - Educational Leadership and Policy Studies upon the review, some recommendations to revise the P&T criteria were sent to the unit.
 - Social Welfare the unit submitted only one change to the renumbering of their P&T committee structure. After a discussion of the SPPT committee's charge and role on this specific aspect, the committee reviewed and acknowledged the submission.
- To keep with last year's aim, the Chair prepared an email to be sent out to all units to:
 - Submit any recent new/changed/ revised P&T criteria to SPPT for review.
 - Include a completed check list referencing the FSRR VI within their documents.

The email was sent to all units by Amy Mendenhall, Vice-provost of Faculty Affairs

- The committee also made plans to have a more structured/regular meeting schedules for a more efficient and effective review process in the next AY.
- The committee agreed that units must submit their P&T criteria for reviews in the first week of October and first week March, followed by revision submissions as needed. Amy Mendenhall will be sending these deadlines to all units soon.
- The committee voted and elected Uma Outka as the new Chairperson for the AY 2024-25.

SPPT Goals for 2024-25

- To follow the committee meeting schedule as planned above and provide a quick turn-around for the reviews of revised documents.
- Plan to recruit two new committee members, as Nisha Fernando and Uma Outka will be completing their 3-year term in the committee.