Faculty Senate

Faculty  Senate  

The Faculty Senate is the elected voice of over 1,500 faculty members, including tenured, tenure track, Unclassified Academic Staff, Librarians, lecturers, and Teaching Professors.  The Faculty Senate consists of thirty-nine elected members of the faculty, and the Chancellor and the Provost, who serve ex officio. Members of the Faculty Senate shall serve simultaneous terms on the University Senate.  Members serve staggered three-year terms, with one third of the members elected each spring by the faculty at large through elections. All the professional schools, the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, and the libraries are represented on the Faculty Senate. Members’ terms begin the day after Commencement of the election year and continue until Commencement the following year.

The Faculty Senate acts on behalf of the faculty, and share in the responsibility with the Chancellor and Provost in matters including but not limited to:

  • Faculty Rights, Privileges, and Responsibilities
  • research, scholarly publications,
  • admission and transfer requirements,credit for resident and non-resident study
  • Educational and Academic Policy
  • Criteria for faculty tenure, appointment, and promotion 

 The Faculty Senate is empowered to make recommendations to the University Senate rules, regulations, Faculty Senate Rules and Regulations, affairs of the University as directly and primarily affect the faculty of the University and to take such steps as it shall deem necessary for their implementation and administration.  

Faculty Senate Members 


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today
Governance Meetings