• Home
  • University Senate 09/11/2014

University Senate 09/11/2014

University Senate
September 11, 2014 - 3:30pm
Room 203 Law School

University Senate

September 11, 2014 – 3:30 p.m.

Room 203 Green Hall (Law School)

I.          Approval of minutes from April 24 and May 1, 2014

II.         Standing Reports

            A.  University Senate President Jonathan Mayhew

            B.  Faculty Senate President Jim Carothers

            C.  Interim Student Senate President Tyler Childress

            D.  Unclassified Senate President Amanda Ostreko

            E.  University Support Staff Senate President Chris Wallace

III.        Approval of Charges for Standing Committees

            A.  Academic Computing and Electronic Communications (ACEC)

            B.  Academic Policies and Procedures (AP & P)

            C.  Athletic

            D.  Calendar

            E.  International Affairs

            F.  Libraries

            G.  Organization and Administration (O & A)

            H.  Planning and Resources (P & R)

            I.  Retirees Rights and Benefits (RRB)

IV.        Old Business

V.         New Business





September 11, 2014 – 3:30 p.m.

203 Green Hall

Approved October 9, 2014

MEMBERS PRESENT:  Faculty – Jonathan Mayhew, Jim Carothers, Ron Barrett-Gonzalez, Tom Beisecker, Kelly Chong, Katherine Clark, Antha Cotten-Spreckelmeyer, Mohamed El-Hodiri, Lisa Friis, Sandra Gray, Kissan Joseph, Nancy Kinnersley, Paul Laird, Jeremy Martin, Kirk McClure, Mario Medina, Paul Outka, Allan Pasco, Bozenna Pasik-Duscan, Meagan Patterson, Marlesa Roney, Roberta Freund Schwartz, Bill Staples, Barbara Timmermann, Mike Williams, Susan Williams, Lisa Wolf-Wendel.  Students – Alex Kinkead, Morgan Said, Miranda Wagner, Michael Walker.  Unclassified Staff – Mishelle Denton, David Day, Keah Cunningham, Greg Smith, Michael Krings.  University Support Staff – Charlotte Goodman, Chris Wallace.

EXCUSEDFaculty – Mahasweta Banerjee, Philip Baringer, Kim Gloer, Andrea Greenhoot, Pamela Keller, Stuart Macdonald, Elizabeth MacGonagle, Gerald Mikkelson, Steve Padget, Barney Warf.  Unclassified Staff – Elizabeth Phillips.  University Support Staff – Peggy Robinson.

ALSO PRESENT:  Amanda Ostreko, Unclassified Senate President; Kathleen Levy and Kathy Reed, University Governance.

President Jonathan Mayhew called the meeting to order.

University Senate approved the minutes for April 24 and May 1, 2014.


University Senate President – Mayhew reported that he chaired the committee charged with developing Social Media Policy Procedures.  At present the procedures are being considered by SenEx and will be presented to University Senate mid-semester.

Faculty Senate President – Carothers reported that the most important work over the summer for FacEx was developing charges for standing committees and making committee appointments.  This fall FacEx will continue consideration of the Faculty Code of Rights, Responsibilities, and Conduct.  He will give more details about this process in the Faculty Senate meeting.

Student Senate President – Miranda Wagner, newly elected Student Senate President, and Tyler Childress, interim Student Senate President, reported that Student Senate was able to continue functioning despite the election issues.  They noted that Student Senate should be back to normal next week.  Student Senate passed a sexual assault resolution.  Mayhew noted that election of the University Senate Vice President (a student) will take place at the October meeting when all student representatives to University Senate have been selected.

Unclassified Senate – Ostreko reported that she has received and is reviewing a draft of the One Senate proposal.  Their senate has been working on nominations for various Unclassified and University Senate committees.  Professional development applications will be going out soon.  Some staff members who switched from University Support Staff to Unclassified lost vacation days.  Human Resources will restore the lost time. 

University Support Staff Senate – Wallace reported that progress is being made on the One Staff Senate proposal.  University Support Staff Senate is working with other Regents schools to change how leave is accrued.

APPROVAL OF FY15 CHARGES FOR STANDING COMMITTEES – Wolf-Wendel/Kinnersley moved that the proposed charges for University Senate standing committees be approved.  Passed unanimously. 

No further business.

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathleen Levy

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today
Governance Meetings