• Home
  • Faculty Senate - 4/23/15

Faculty Senate - 4/23/15

Faculty Senate
April 23, 2015 - 3:30pm
Room 203 Law School


(This meeting may be electronically recorded.)

AGENDA – FY16 Senate

(FY16 President Tom Beisecker presiding)

  1. Election of President-Elect for FY16
    1. Only the FY16 Faculty Senators may nominate/vote - see blue list)
  2. Election of Six Faculty to the Faculty Executive Committee (FacEx)
  • Only the FY16 members may nominate/vote – see blue list
  • Nominees must be available to meet on Tuesdays at 3:00 p.m.
  • FacEx must include representatives from at least three school or two schools and the libraries
  • The president and president-elect may be elected as voting members or may serve as ex-officio, non-voting members of FacEx

III.           Adjournment


AGENDA – FY15 Senate

(FY15 President Jim Carothers presiding)

  1. Announcements
  2. Approval of minutes from April 16, 2015
  3. Report of Faculty Senate President Jim Carothers
  4. Old Business
  5. New Business



APPROVED: 5/7/2015

MEMBERS PRESENT: Jonathan Mayhew, Jim Carothers, Mahasweta Banerjee, Ron Barrett-Gonzalez, Phil Baringer, Jay Childers, Thomas Beisecker, Kelly Chong, Katherine Clark, Mohamed El-Hodiri, Chris Elles, Pam Fine, Lisa Friis, Andrea Greenhoot, Lynn Hancock, Joe Harrington, Kissan Joseph, Pam Keller, Sandra Gray, Paul Laird, Elizabeth MacGonagle, Jeremy Martin, Mario Medina, Amalia Monroe-Gulick, Nancy Kinnersley, Steve Padgett, Bozenna Pasik-Duncan, Allan Pasco, Meagan Patterson, Angela Rathmel, Geraldo Sousa, Dean Stetler, Belinda Sturm, Roberta Freund Schwartz, Bill Staples, Barbara Timmerman, Mike Williams, Susan Williams, Lisa Wolf-Wendel.  Ex-Officio non-voting–  Provost Jeff Vitter

EXCUSED:  Antha Cotten-Spreckelmeyer, Chuck Epp, Christopher Fischer, David Fowle, Stuart Macdonald, Kirk McClure, Gerald Mikkelson, Marlesa Roney, Barney Warf, Mary Banwart, Jonathan Clark, Majid Hannoum, Jason Matejkowski

ALSO PRESENT:  Molly Mulloy and Kathy Reed, University Governance; Amy Smith, Policy Office;


            FY-16 President Tom Beisecker called the meeting to order.


            Beisecker explained that the senate would be choosing a president-elect and six members of the Faculty Executive Committee (“FacEx”). He noted that nominees must be able to meet every Tuesday during the academic year at 3:00 p.m., that the president-elect and the president had the option of being either voting or ex-officio members of FacEx, and that there must be representation from at least three different schools or two schools and the libraries on FacEx. He pointed out that only the FY-16 Faculty Senators could nominate and vote today.

            He invited outgoing president Jim Carothers to the podium to thank him for his 32 years of leadership in faculty governance. He stated that very few faculty members have provided such extensive representation for their colleagues and cited Carothers for his multiple terms as SenEx/FacEx chair (1983-84 and 1999-2000), University/Faculty Senate President (1984-85, 2000-2001. And 2005-06), and Faculty Senate President (2014-2015). Carothers received a standing ovation as he was presented with an engraved plaque, and responded that it had been an honor to serve the KU faculty. 


            Ron Barrett-Gonzalez, Engineering, and Pam Keller, Law, were nominated. Barrett-Gonzalez withdrew his name, and Keller was elected by acclamation.


            The following were nominated: Jonathan Clark, History; Mario  Medina, Engineering;  Sandra Gray, Anthropology; Joe Harrington, English; Mike Williams, Journalism; Amalia Monroe-Gulick, Libraries; Tom Beisecker, Communication Studies; Ron Barrett-Gonzalez, Engineering; Pam Keller, Law; and  Meagan Patterson, Education. Ballots were distributed, and the newly elected FacEx members announced for FY-16 were Harrington, Williams, Monroe-Gulick, Gray, Keller, and Barrett-Gonzalez. 


            Beisecker thanked members of the current senate for their work this year in debating and rewriting a Faculty Code which represents the principles and procedures that should govern our activities as a community of scholars.  He hopes and trusts that our beliefs will be shared by the administration, and that faculty can move forward collectively to pursue teaching, research and service to further advance KU’s reputation and stature.

            He remarked that the attention of this year’s faculty senate has been appropriately focused inward toward the Faculty Code. However, just as physical communities must look beyond their boundaries to establish relationships with neighbors, he said senate members must also look outward to see how our interests intersect with those of other communities with which we interact. For example, the University is actively recruiting and hoping to significantly increase the percentage of international students at KU, and faculty have a responsibility to ask questions regarding the standards and programs used in the process. In addition, the Faculty Senate has a right to ask questions about the many organizational changes to facilities and services in recent years that affect teaching and resources.  Furthermore, the faculty needs to understand what the Board of Regents is doing and the constraints under which they operate, and to that end Beisecker hopes to provide comprehensive reports about the monthly Regents’ meetings to the Faculty Senate.

Beisecker concluded his remarks by stating that the Faculty Senate is the heart and soul of KU faculty, and the thirty-nine senators represent more than 1,600 faculty colleagues. He urged members to deal constructively with the issues that will be considered during the upcoming year.

No further business.

Respectfully submitted,

Molly Mulloy



President Jim Carothers called the meeting to order.

MINUTES for 4/14/2015 were approved.


            Carothers observed that last week’s senate meeting was one of the best he’s ever attended.

In regard to the open-carry gun legislation passed by the Kansas legislature, Carothers said a senator had asked what preparations we were making to teach on a campus where students in the near future may be armed. As this is an extremely serious concern to many at KU, Carothers urged that we research how other universities with similar state gun laws are handling this problem and learn from their best practices.

No further business.

Respectfully submitted,

Molly Mulloy


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today
Governance Meetings