• Home
  • Faculty Senate 09/11/2014

Faculty Senate 09/11/2014

Faculty Senate
September 11, 2014 - 3:30pm
Room 203 Law School

I.          Approval of minutes from April 24, 2014 (FY14 and 15)

II.        Report of Faculty Senate President Jim Carothers

III.       Approval of Charges for Faculty Senate Standing Committees

            A.  Faculty Compensation

            B.  Faculty Rights Board (FRB)

            C.  Faculty Rights, Privileges and Responsibilities (FRPR)

            D.  Research

            E.  Restricted Research

            F.  Standards and Procedures for Promotion and Tenure (SPPT)

IV.       Approval of New Faculty Members for University and Faculty Senate


V.        Faculty Senate Representative to Unclassified Senate

VI.       Old Business

VII.      New Business




September 11, 2014 – immediately following University Senate

203 Green Hall

APROVED December 4, 2014

MEMBERS PRESENT:  Jim Carothers, Jonathan Mayhew, Ron Barrett-Gonzalez, Tom Beisecker, Kelly Chong, Katherine Clark, Antha Cotten-Spreckelmeyer, Mohamed El-Hodiri, Lisa Friis, Sandra Gray, Kissan Joseph, Nancy Kinnersley, Paul Laird, Jeremy Martin, Kirk McClure, Mario Medina, Paul Outka, Allan Pasco, Bozenna Pasik-Duscan, Meagan Patterson, Marlesa Roney, Roberta Freund Schwartz, Bill Staples, Barbara Timmermann, Mike Williams, Susan Williams, Lisa Wolf-Wendel 

EXCUSED:  Mahasweta Banerjee, Philip Baringer, Kim Gloer, Andrea Greenhoot, Pamela Keller, Stuart Macdonald, Elizabeth MacGonagle, Gerald Mikkelson, Steve Padget, Barney Warf. 

ALSO PRESENT:  Kathleen Levy and Kathy Reed, University Governance.

President Jim Carothers called the meeting to order.

Faculty Senate approved the minutes for April 24, 2014.

REPORT OF FACULTY SENATE PRESIDENT – Carothers reported that there has been progress on the revision of the Faculty Code of Rights, Responsibilities, and Conduct (Faculty Code).  FacEx worked last spring but did not finish going through the entire document.  Carothers sent a memo to administration last summer summarizing FacEx work to date.  He and Mayhew met with Mary Lee Hummert and Marta Caminero-Santangelo to see where there might be common ground.  Carothers noted that academic freedom language had been deleted by administration and it is now restored.  He also noted that administration proposes that the Faculty Code be a stand-alone policy that will conform to other University policies, and administration must consult Faculty Senate before changes are made.  Electronic links to Governance documents and other policies will be included in the Faculty Code so that individuals will have one document in which they can find all relevant procedures.  Carothers emphasized that FacEx is still working on the document.  FacEx will be seeking input from FY14 members of FacEx (Chris Steadham, Nancy Kinnersley, Julie Petr, Kathy Suprenant) and FRPR chair Jan Sheldon as they have worked extensively on the Faculty Code. 

APPROVAL OF FY15 CHARGES FOR STANDING COMMITTEES – Mayhew/Barrett-Gonzalez moved that the FY15 charges for standing committees be approved.  Passed.

APPROVAL OF FACULTY APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES – Wolf-Wendel/Kinnersley moved that the faculty appointments for FY15 proposed by FacEx be approved.  Passed.

REQUEST FOR NOMINATIONS – Carothers asked for nominations for faculty representatives to Unclassified Senate and to a working group on diversity issues convened by the new Vice Provost for Diversity and Equity Nate Thomas.  Senators should email or call Carothers with names of candidates.

NEW BUSINESS – El-Hodiri/Barrett-Gonzalez moved that the following resolution in honor of Bill Scott be approved.  Passed unanimously.


Sense of the Senate Motion

University of Kansas Faculty Senate

September 11, 2014


Be it resolved that:

The Faculty Senate at the University of Kansas, celebrating the life of our departed colleague William Osborne Scott (February 10, 1932 – August 28, 2014), Emeritus Professor of English, acknowledges and highly values Bill’s sustained selfless years of service dedicated to collegiality and shared management of the University throughout the full range of University Governance and AAUP.

No further business.

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathleen Levy

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today
Governance Meetings