The Faculty Senate acts on behalf of the faculty. The Faculty Senate recommends rules, regulations, and policies on behalf of the University’s faculty for the Faculty Senate Rules and Regulations and provides input for various other university policies. The Faculty Senate consists of 39 faculty members who serve simultaneous terms on the University Senate. Members serve staggered three-year terms, with one third of the members elected each spring by the faculty at large through elections. All of the professional schools, the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, and the libraries are represented on the Faculty Senate. Members’ terms begin the day after Commencement of the election year and continue until Commencement the following year.

Faculty Senate President FY2017          
Pamela Keller Clinical Professor  pkeller@ku.edu Law Law  17
University Senate President FY2017          
Joseph Harrington Professor jharring@ku.edu English CLAS 18
Cecile Accilien Associate Professor cecileaccilien@ku.edu African and African-American Studies CLAS 19
Mary Banwart Associate mbanwart@ku.edu Communication Studies CLAS 18
Ronald Barrett-Gonzalez Associate Professor  barrettr@ku.edu Aerospace Engineering Engineering 17
Thomas Beisecker Associate Professor south40@ku.edu Communication Studies CLAS 17
Naima Boussofara Associate Professor nboussofara@ku.edu African and African-American Studies CLAS 19
Ben Chappell Associate Professor bchap@ku.edu American Studies CLAS 19
Kelly Chong Associate Professor  kchong@ku.edu Sociology  CLAS 17
Jonathan Clark Distinguished Professor jcdclark@ku.edu History CLAS 18
Chris Elles Assistant Professor  elles@ku.edu Chemistry CLAS 18
Pam Fine Professor pamfine@ku.edu Journalism Journalism 18
Christopher Fischer Associate Professor  shark@ku.edu Physics and Astronomy CLAS 17
Ruben Flores Associate Professor flores@ku.edu American Studies CLAS 19
Lisa Friis Associate Professor lfriis@ku.edu Mechanical Engineering Engineering 17
Jane Gibson Associate Professor JWGC@ku.edu Anthropology CLAS 19
Sandra Gray Associate Professor sjgray@ku.edu Anthropology CLAS 17
Megan Greene Associate Professor mgreene@ku.edu History CLAS 19
Lynn Hancock  Associate Professor lynnh@ku.edu Molecular Biosciences CLAS 18
Majid Hannoum Associate Professor ahannoum@ku.edu Anthropology CLAS 18
           
Kissan Joseph Associate Professor kjoseph@ku.edu Business Business 17
Elizabeth MacGonagle Associate Professor macgonag@ku.edu History CLAS 17
Margaret Marco Associate
Professor
mmarco@ku.edu Music Music 19
Jason Matejkowski Assistant Professor  jmate@Ku.edu Social Welfare Social Welfare 18
Amalia Monroe-Gulick Associate Librarian almonroe@ku.edu Libraries Libraries 18
Ebenezer Obadare Professor obadare@ku.edu Sociology CLAS 19
Paul Outka Associate Professor paul.outka@ku.edu English CLAS 19
Bozenna Pasik-Duncan Professor pasik13@ku.edu Mathematics CLAS 17
Meagan Patterson  Associate Professor  mmpatter@ku.edu Education Psychology  Education 17
Edward Peltier Associate Professor epeltier@ku.edu Civil/Environ/Arch Engineering Engineering 19
Thomas Prisinzano Professor prisinza@ku.edu Medicinal Chemistry Pharmacy 19
Lance Rake Professor lgrake@ku.edu Design Architecture 19
Angela Rathmel Assistant Specialist aroads@ku.edu Libraries Libraries 18
Roberta Freund Schwartz Associate Professor  RFSCHWAR@ku.edu Music Music 18
Suzanne Shontz Associate Professor shontz@ku.edu EECS Engineering 19
Geraldo Sousa Professor sousa@ku.edu English CLAS 18
Bill Staples Professor staples@ku.edu Sociology College  17
Dean Stetler Associate Professor DSTETLER@ku.edu Molecular Biosciences CLAS 18
Belinda Sturm Associate Professor bmcswain@ku.edu Civil/Environ/Arch Engineering Engineering

18

 


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today
Governance Meetings